Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Sunday, June 07, 2009

Rebecca Kelso, MD Accepts New Position

The UTMB DIG has learned with regret that Dr. Rebecca Kelso has accepted a dermatology private practice opportunity in San Antonio, Texas. Dr. Kelso has had a very distinguished academic career at UTMB over the past ten years. She graduated from medical school at UTMB in 2003 with AOA and Magna Cum Laude dermatology research honors, and was was awarded the Thomas W. Freese, MD Award for outstanding work in dermatology by a medical student. She completed dermatology residency at UTMB in 2007 where her research was recognized as the best in her graduating residency class by the dermatology faculty. During dermatology residency at UTMB she received a prestigious 2005 Young Investigator Writing Competition Award from the American Society of Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) for her original investigational work about perineural invasion by cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma. Following completion of residency training at UTMB she became board certified in dermatology by the American Board of Dermatology and accepted a faculty position in the Department of Dermatology at UTMB. She will be greatly missed by her patients, medical students, dermatology residents and the dermatology faculty. The UTMB DIG wishes good luck to Dr. Kelso in all of her future endeavors!