Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Congratulations Dr. Sharon Raimer

This May, Dr. Sharon Raimer, the UTMB Department of Dermatology Chair, was elected the President of the Texas Dermatological Society (TDS). The immediate past TDS President was Dr. Dan McCoy (a UTMB dermatology residency program graduate).

UTMB Dermatology Resident Recognized at TDS Meeting

Dr. Julie Fridlington was awarded 3rd prize for her recent podium presentation at the 2008 Annual Spring meeting of the Texas Dermatological Society that was held in San Antonio. The title of her presentation was "Bilateral Dermal Melanocytosis." Her UTMB coauthors were senior medical student Leslie Scroggins and Drs. Karan Sra and Bernard Gibson.

Junior UTMB Medical Student Receives Grant

Congratulations to third year medical student, Alison Wiesenthal for receiving an National AOA Medical Student Service Project Award for her proposal, "Stay Shady! Sun Protection Children's Educational Project." Part of this grant will provide kids with new sunglasses and UV bead bracelets.


The UTMB Honors Research Program has approved Jennifer Vickers' original dermatology thesis research proposal entitled, "Pimple Popper, MD: Why Seinfeld is Consequential to Dermatology." Ms. Vickers is currently a senior medical student at UTMB. Her faculty advisor for this research is Richard Wagner, MD. Her ad hoc thesis committee is composed of Drs. Simon Lewis, Sharon Raimer and Brent Kelly. Congratulations on the approval of your interesting research topic!

Monday, July 07, 2008

New Dermatology Fellow in Austin

Clifton Hall, MD has been selected for the 2008-2009 UTMB Austin Dermatology Fellowship in Infectious Dermatology and Underserved Populations. Dr. Hall graduated from the University of Utah School of Medicine, Salt Lake City, Utah where he also completed his internship. The Fellowship Program Director is Jason Reichenberg, MD. UTMG DIG extends a big Texas welcome our new fellow!

BCM Department of Dermatology Interest Meeting

Dermatology Interest Meeting sponsored by Baylor College of Medicine Dept of Dermatology
Hosted by Drs. John Wolf (program director and chief), Ted Rosen, Ida Orengo, and the Baylor Dermatology staff and residents
Date: August 11, 2008
Time: 6:30 pm
Location: Baylor Clinic, 14th floor Dermatology Suite
Address: 6620 Fannin St, Suite 1425, Houston, TX 77030
Purpose: We will be discussing the application process for dermatology, including strategies and academic performance. Students may come with any questions for staff or residents. The discussion generally lasts about 2 hours, with time for one-on-one questions afterwards. Dinner will be served.

Contact Person: Dornechia George--PGY3 resident.
Contact information: email--degeorge@bcm.edu; cell phone--(713) 301-4680.

Tuesday, July 01, 2008

Welcome New UTMB Dermatology Residents and Dermatopathology Fellows

The UTMB DIG welcomes our new dermatology residents and dermatopathology fellows for the 2008-2009 academic year:

First Year Dermatology Residents (Class of 2011)

Mika Yamazaki , MD
Matt Petitt, DO
David Raimer, MD

Dermatopathology Fellows (Class of 2009)

Alma C. Berlingeri-Ramos, MD
Cecilia M. Rosales, MD

We look forward to working with everyone!