Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Saturday, May 30, 2020

UTMB Department of Dermatology Announces 2020 Graduation Awards

Thomas W. Freese MD Memorial Endowment for Excellence in Dermatology: Caroline Crain

Edgar B. Smith MD Endowed Scholarship Award in Dermatology Research: Michael Ryan

History of Dermatology Award: Corley Pruneda (“1920 Bubonic Plague in Galveston”)

Skin Disease Depicted in Cinema Award: Ronan Allencherril: “For Richer, for Poorer, for Fairer, for Darker: Skin Color in Marriage, Attraction, and Film”

Congratulations to all of the awardees!

Thursday, May 28, 2020

UTMB Mohs Team Publishes Article

Congratulations to Dr. J. Croley, a current PGY4 UTMB dermatology resident and the Mohs Fellow for the upcoming 2020-2021 academic year. Her article,"Reconstruction of Medium to Large Scalp Defects by Progressive Tightening of Pulley Sutures for Staged Primary Closure" was published in the June 2020 issue of Dermatologic Surgery (46:837-839). Her co-authors were Drs. Helen Malone (former UTMB Mohs fellow and current Mohs faculty at Baylor Houston), J. Hirshburg (former UTMB Mohs fellow and current Mohs faculty at University of Oklahoma) and R. Wagner (UTMB Mohs Fellowship Program Director).

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Dermatology Program Directors Consensus Statement

Informative and reassuring information about the 2020-2021 academic year for dermatology applicants from dermatology program directors:

No Away Dermatology Rotations for UTMB MS4s This Year

Due to the COVID-19 emergency, UTMB will not permit its students to take away dermatology rotations at other institutions during the 2020-2021 academic year. Fortunately for our students, the Department of Dermatology at UTMB offers a wide array of clinical and didactic electives and Selectives, including courses that satisfy UTMB’s Acting Internship and BSHS writing requirements.

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Bloomberg Businessweek Publishes Article Critical of Private Equity Dermatology Practices

Those with an interest in dermatology might be interested in reading reporter Heather Perlberg’s article, “First, do no harm Maximize free cash flow: How private equity is ruining American health care” that was published in the May 25, 2020 issue of Bloomberg Businessweek (pages 52-57). An interview with the author is available online at https://www.bloomberg.com/news/audio/2020-05-20/how-private-equity-is-ruining-us-health-care-perlberg-radio

Saturday, May 23, 2020

New UTMB Dermatology Publication in JAAD Case Reports

Congratulations to Michael Ryan, immediate past-president of the UTMB DIG, with his first author publication, "Multiple subcutaneous juvenile xanthogranulomas with a blue hue in a neonate: An atypical presentation" that was published in JAAD Case Reports (Volume 6, Issue 6). His coauthors were PGY4 UTMB dermatology resident Adam V. Nguyen, UTMB Associate Professor of Pediatrics Morning Matthew J. Hay, Brent C. Kelly (UTMB Professor Dermatology) and Sharon S. Raimer (former UTMB Dermatology Chair). 

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Congratulations Dr. Julie Boisen

Dr. Julie Boisen graduated from UTMB SOM in 2016 and was commissioned as an Officer in the US Navy. She matched into dermatology residency at Baylor-Scott & White in Temple, Texas for July 2021. Congratulations Dr. Boisen! We look forward to seeing you again at upcoming Texas Dermatological Association meetings.

Friday, May 15, 2020

Congratulations Dr. Adam Nguyen!

Dr. Adam Nguyen, a PGY4 UTMB dermatology resident, received the Department of Dermatology nomination for the UTMB 2020 Outstanding Resident of the Year. Nominations for this honor were made by UTMB dermatology residents who provided information about how their nominee met the award criteria determined by the UTMB Graduate Medical Education Committee. All nominees were reviewed by the dermatology faculty for the final selection. Dr. Nguyen distinguished himself as the Chief Dermatology Resident for Medical Student Education during the 2019-2020 academic year. With a record number of rotating students from other institutions, as well as our 4 own internal applicants, he devoted considerable time and effort organizing their lecture and clinic schedules. It was fitting that UTMB MS4s recognized him with their annual award for Excellent Dermatology Teaching by a Dermatology Resident. Thank you Dr. Nguyen for improving the academic and clinical experiences for medical students this year!

UTMB DIG 2020 Annual Dermatology Teaching Awards

Each year graduating MS4 UTMB DIG members recognize the dermatology resident and faculty who have contributed the most to their dermatology education. This is always a difficult decision because of the excellent quality of teaching provided by all dermatology residents and faculty at UTMB. This year the awards for excellent dermatology teaching were given to:

Resident Award: Adam Nguyen, MD

Faculty Award: Kathleen Kroger, MD


UTMB Dermatology Residents Recognize Excellence in Dermatology Teaching 2019-2020

Each year all of the UTMB dermatology residents meet to decide the annual faculty teaching awards. Two awards are given, one to a UTMB dermatology faculty and the other to a community dermatologist who have contributed the most to resident dermatology education over the past academic year. The decision is always difficult because the UTMB Department of Dermatology has a great depth of excellent teachers in all areas of dermatology. This year the awardees are:

Faculty Dermatology: Kathleen Kroger, MD

Community Dermatology: Rebecca Philips, MD


Tuesday, May 12, 2020

More Thoughts About Decreasing Dermatology Residency Interview Costs

Congratulations to UTMB DIG President Michael Ryan and Dr. Richard Wagner, UTMB Dermatology Program Director for their recent article in Cutis,
“More on How to Decrease Dermatology Interview Costs.” This commentary appears in the May 2020 issue (105:263-264), and is available at https://www.mdedge.com/dermatology/article/221778/mixed-topics/more-how-decrease-dermatology-interview-costs

Saturday, May 09, 2020

New UTMB Dermatology Publication in SKIN

Congratulations to Drs. Julie Croley (PGY4 UTMB Dermatology Resident) and Dr. Janice Wilson (UTMB Assistant Professor of Dermatology and Associate Program Director, Dermatopathology Fellowship) for their recent publication, “Generalized lichen nitidus in a middle-aged adult” in Volume 4, Issue 2 of SKIN: The Journal of Cutaneous Medicine (“Brief Articles” section). SKIN is a peer-reviewed bimonthly publication. For additional information about this publication, please see https://jofskin.org/index.php/skin/article/view/659 Dr. Matthew LaCour, UTMB SOM 2019 was the first author. He will be a dermatology resident at LSU in July 2020.