Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Friday, May 29, 2009

Dermatology Department Adopts Electronic Medical Record (EMR)

The Dermatology Department is taking Epic training today to learn how to use the EMR used at UTMB. Starting on Monday, June 1st, 2009 the department plans on using EMR for all clinical activities.

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Conner Chan, MD Named UTMB Intern of the Year

Congratulations are due to Conner Chan, MD, who was just awarded the UTMB Outstanding First Year Resident Award by the UTMB Office of Graduate Medical Education. Conner graduated from UTMB last year is well known to past and present UTMB DIG members for his excellent teaching skills and compassionate patient care. He will be leaving UTMB next month to start dermatology residency at LSU.

Volunteers Needed for Camp Dermadillo in August

Dr. Alanna Bree, Assistant Professor of Dermatology and Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine( gogalvan@texaschildrens.org ) has requested that interested medical students contact her about Camp Dermadillo (Burton, Texas http://www.campdiscovery.org/location_dermadillo.html ) which is scheduled for
August 8-14th this year. They are especially in need of male counselors. Several UTMB medical students have participated in past years and they all have considered it an worthwhile experience.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

UTMB MS3 Dermatology Research Honors Project Approved

A third year UTMB medical student, Jarad Levin, has recently had his dermatology research honors project topic approved: "Presentation of Skin Cancers in Latin Americans as Related to Their Access to Healthcare”. His UTMB dermatology faculty advisor on this research is Brent Kelly, MD.   

Monday, May 18, 2009

UTMB Dermatology Resident Scholarly Project Accepted for Publication

Dr. Josh Dimmick's dermatology scholarly project entitled, "UVL Lip Protection in a High Risk Population" has been accepted for publication by Household and Personal Care Today, a peer-reviewed Italian journal. His coauthors on this study were first year medical students Janese Laster and Donald Warren, and his faculty advisor was Dr. Richard Wagner. Publication is scheduled for September 2009. UTMB dermatology resident scholarly projects are usually started by January of the PGY-2 year and submitted for peer-reviewed publication by January of the PGY-4 year.

Friday, May 15, 2009

2009 Annual UTMB Medical Student Teaching Awards in Recognition of Excellent Teaching by Dermatology Resident and Faculty

Medical Student Teaching Award for Excellent Dermatology Teaching by a Senior Dermatology Resident: Julie Sracic Brantley, MD

Medical Student Teaching Award for Excellent Dermatology Teaching by Dermatology Faculty: Brent Kelly, MD

Leslie Markle presents Dr. Brent Kelly with the 2009 Medical Student Award for Excellent Dermatology Teaching by Dermatology Faculty

2009 Annual Dermatology Department Medical Student Awards

The UTMB DIG congratulates the following 2009 awardees:

2009 Awards to Medical Students
-Best Original Essay for "Skin Diseases Depicted in Cinema" course: Jennifer Vickers ("Skin Disease: A Public Misconception")
-Beiersdorf History of Dermatology Award: Elizabeth Williford ("Leprosy: Scourge of the Past and Present")
-Edgar B. Smith Endowed Scholarship Award for Excellent Dermatology Research by a Medical Student: Mara Dacso
-Thomas B. Freese Award for Overall Excellence in Dermatology: Leslie Scroggins Markle

Dr. Wagner (center) presents Leslie Scroggins Markle (left) and Mara Dacso (right) with 2009 Dermatology Awards

2009 UTMB Honors Research Program in Dermatology
-Mara Dacso: Magna Cum Laude ("Evaluation of Multi-Drug Therapy for Leprosy in the U.S.A. Using Daily Rifampin")
-Leslie Scroggins Markle: Magna Cum Laude ("The Balance of Matrix Metalloproteinases and Tissue Inhibitor of Metalloproteinase-1 in Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis")
-Jennifer Vickers: Magna Cum Laude ("Pimple Popper, MD: Why Seinfeld is Consquential to Dermatology")

Good luck in your careers!

Monday, May 11, 2009

Reminder: Miles for Melanoma and Skin Screening this Weekend!

Aim for a Cure Miles for Melanoma Walk
May 16, 2009
Walk begins at 8:30am
Registration and t-shirt distribution from 8:00am-8:30am
UTMB Field House Track
215 Holiday Drive
Galveston, TX 77550

If you have access to a folding table or sound system, please contact Tatiana Sousa (tasousa@utmb.edu).

Leisurely Walk or Run
No fee to participate
Each Walker encouraged to raise at least $50.

To register visit: www.AimAtMelanoma.org
Click on: Aim for Action
Click on: Participate in a Fundraiser
Click on: Aim for a Cure Miles for Melanoma Walk
Click on: Galveston (FYI: Texas locations are: Amarillo, Dallas, Galveston, Houston)

Waiver and Pledge Sheet/Donations due the day of event.

If you cannot make the walk and would simply like to pledge a donation online, I have created a donation page in my name at this link: http://www.aimatmelanoma.org/aim-for-action/scheduled-fundraisers/walk/887/910.html

If you know a walker who will be collecting pledges, you can submit your donation to them by check payable to Aim at Melanoma.

****To follow the walk****
UTMB will have their annual cancer screening!
Time: 10am-1pm
Locations: Family Medicine Clinic on Stewart Rd and the South Shore Clinic in League City.
Students are needed to help register patients in both locations. It would be great to get a good turn out of volunteers from our group and divide them up so there is enough students both locations.

Tuesday, May 05, 2009

2009 NSRF Dermatology Poster Awardee

The 2009 National Student Research Forum (NSRF) Dermatology Poster Award was presented to Lisa Shiue from UT Houston Health Science Center for her poster entitled, "Increased Levels of CD4+25high Regulatory T cells in Patients with Cutaneous T-cell Lymphoma after Extracorporeal Photopheresis." The Edgar B. Smith MD Memorial Award for Best Poster Presentation in Dermatology is given annually by the UTMB Department of Dermatology to recognize outstanding dermatology research by medical and graduate students who present their work at the NSRF in Galveston.