Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Tuesday, October 23, 2007

2006-2007 UTMB Dermatolpathology Fellows Pass American Board of Dermatopathology Board Certification Examination

Congratulations to Drs. Brent Kelly and Matt Petitt for passing the certification examination given by the American Board of Dermatopathology in September 2007. Dr. Kelly is now triple-boaraded in dermatopathology, dermatology and internal medicine and he is currently the Director of Dermatopathology at UTMB. Dr. Petitt is now double-boarded in dermatopathology and pathology, and is currently taking a clinical internship in UTMB in the Department of Internal Medicine prior to beginning dermatology residency at UTMB in July 2008.

Monday, October 22, 2007

Congratulations Dr. Readinger!

The UTMB DIG is pleased to learn that Dr. Allison Readinger, a 2006 UTMB Dermatology Residency Program graduate, passed the certification examination given by the American Board of Dermatopathology on her first attempt in September 2007, and is now a Diplomate of the American Board of Dermatopathology. Dr. Readinger completed her dermatopathology fellowship training with Dr. Ronald Rapini (The University of Texas Medical School at Houston) this year before sitting for the examination.

Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Volunteers Needed for Texas Dermatologic Society Meeting

I wanted to remind all of you of the upcoming Texas Dermatologic Society Meeting that will be held in Galveston the weekend of Friday, November 2 through Sunday, November 4. All DIG members are invited to attend and help out at the patient viewings on Sun Nov 4th. We will ask anyone who is interested in helping to show up at the clinic at about 8 am on Sunday, and help room the patients and direct the visitors to the clinic. There will be some excellent cases, so I encourage all of you to attend! If anyone has any questions, feel free to stop by the clinic/department anytime and talk to any of the residents.

2007 UTMB Dermatology Graduating Residents Pass Dermatology Boards

Congratulations to Drs. Becky Kelso and Jason Weaver for passing the certification examination given by the American Board of Dermatology in August 2007. This marks the 7th consecutive year that 100% of graduating senior UTMB dermatology residents have passed their dermatology certification examination on the first attempt and have become Diplomates of the American Board of Dermatology. Dr. Weaver is currently in private practice (College Station, Texas) while Dr. Kelso is an Assistant Professor of Dermatology at UTMB.

Monday, October 08, 2007

DIG Meeting Recap 10-8-07

Tonight we had our first DIG meeting of the year. We welcomed 3 new members to our organization: Auris Huen, MS1; Tri Ngo, MS1; and Alison Wiesenthal, MS2. We brainstormed ideas for speakers and topics that we would like to have for the year, as well as upcoming community outreach projects. There was also a generalized Q&A at the end of the session to discuss questions related to 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year, dermatology electives, as well as research projects/mentors, etc. Fadi and I will both be on away rotations next month, so our next meeting will be in late November -- look for an email announcement to specify the date. I look forward to seeing you all then!

Ashley Group

Tuesday, October 02, 2007

UTMB Dermatology Adds Another Full-time Faculty

The UTMB DIG has learned the Bernard R. Gibson, MD (General Dermatology) has accepted a full-time faculty position in the UTMB Department of Dermatology, starting this week. The Department of Dermatology at UTMB now has 6 full-time dermatologists: Dr. Sharon Raimer, Chair (Pediatric Dermatology), Dr. Richard Wagner, Deputy Chair and Dermatology Residency Program Director (Mohs Micrographic Surgery and Cutaneous Oncology), Dr. Brent Kelly (Dermatopathology), Dr. Mike Wilkerson (Dermatopharmacology), and Dr. Becky Kelso (General Dermatology). They are joined by 5 additional part-time faculty: Dr. Erica Kelly (Cosmetic Dermatology), Dr. Maria Colome-Grimmer (Dermatopathology), Dr. Ramon Sanchez (Dermatopathology), Dr. Norman Guzick (General Dermatology), and Dr. Dayna Diven (General Dermatology).

Monday, October 01, 2007

UTMB Dermatologists Elected to ISHRS

Drs. Andy Perri, a senior UTMB dermatology resident, and Dr. Richard Wagner, the UTMB Director of Dermatologic Surgery, attended the 15th Annual Scientific Meeting of the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery (ISHRS) in Las Vegas recently and were elected into Society membership. They hope to develop a specialty hair loss dermatology clinic at UTMB for the diagnostic evaluation and management of patients with hair loss (alopecia). It is anticipated that the medical management of hair loss and hair transplantation surgery services will be offered. They hope to eventually offer a new clinical dermatology elective in Hair Diseases to medical students once the clinic is established.