Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Wednesday, December 30, 2020

Value of Mentorship and “Pipeline/Enrichment Programs” for Under-represented Minority Dermatology Applicants

JAAD 2020;83(6):1770-1773 presents data supporting the potential advantage of mentorship and “Pipeline/Enrichment Programs” for minority dermatology applicants. It was based on interviews conducted on dermatology applicants who applied to UT-Southwestern during two different application cycles.

2021 Galveston Mardi Gras Celebration Canceled

Due to COVID-19 there not be a Mardi Gras celebration in Galveston during 2021. New Orleans has also canceled its Mardi Gras parades.

Sunday, December 20, 2020

Upcoming Dermatology Conferences

American Contact Dermatitis Society

Meeting Date: 3/17-18/21
Deadline for Abstracts: 1/3/2021

Atlantic Dermatology Conference

Meeting Date: 4/9-11/21
Deadline for Abstracts: 1/4/2021

American Society for Laser Medicine & Surgery

Meeting Date: 4/24-25/21
Deadline for Abstracts: 1/10/21

American College of Mohs Surgery

Meeting Date: 5/6-9/21
Deadline for Abstracts: 1/11/2021

Society for Investigative Dermatology

Meeting Date: 5/3-8/21
Deadline for Abstracts: 1/5/21

Dr. Michael Wilkerson Named New UTMB Department of Dermatology Chair

Congratulations Dr. Wilkerson on you appointment as the UTMB Dermatology Chair effective January 1, 2021. We all look forward to working with you!

AAMC Concerned about Residency Interview Distribution

The AAMC has issued an open letter about their concern about interview distribution this year:
“We are seeing students in the highest tier receiving a larger number of interviews per person than in past years, leaving other students – including those in the middle of the class – with fewer interviews than we would anticipate based on their qualifications.”
For the entire letter, please see: https://www.aamc.org/media/50291/download?utm_source=sfmc&utm_medium=Email&utm_campaign=ERAS&utm_content=Interviews
Although not specifically addressed to dermatology applicants, it may apply.

Tuesday, December 15, 2020

100% Nine Years in a Row

All of the UTMB 2020 completing dermatology residents have passed the Certification Examination given by the American Board of Dermatology in October, and are now board certified dermatologists. Congratulations to Drs. Arathi Rana, Skyler Maher, Adam Nguyen, and Julie Croley on this outstanding achievement!

Monday, December 14, 2020

All UTMB Dermatology Residents Pass ABD CORE Exams on First Attempt

Congratulations to all of UTMB’s PGY4 dermatology residents for passing the 4 American Board of Dermatology CORE examinations in general dermatology, pediatric dermatology, Dermatologic surgery, and dermatopathology on their first attempt! They were in the first group of residents required by the ABD to pass these exams in order to be eligible to take the ABD Certification Examination following anticipated program completion in June 2021. The CORE examinations are given in January, July, and November. PGY3 dermatology residents are eligible to take their first CORE Exams in January 2021. More than 1 CORE exam may be taken on the same testing date.

Saturday, December 12, 2020

UTMB DIG Presents Another Successful Stay Shady

UTMB DIG has continued to combat in-person restrictions of the COVID-19 pandemic by presenting its Stay Shady skin cancer education program virtually. Thank you to UTMB MS1 Fareen Momin for presenting Stay Shady virtually to the 5th grade students at Trinity Episcopal school on Thursday, December 10.                                   

Hats for the Homeless a Success

UTMB medical students led by MS2 Andrea Francis began distributing hats to Galveston homeless on Saturday December 12, 2020. Ten hats were distributed during the first session, and recipients were taught strategies to avoid sunlight damage to their skin while outdoors during the day. This group has 90 more hats to distribute with initial grant funding from a 2020 UTMB President’s Cabinet Award. Dr. Richard Wagner, UTMB Dermatology Program Director, is Ms. Francis’s faculty sponsor for this grant and her related Quality Improvement Dermatology Honors Research project.

Inaugural UTMB participants from left to right: Nesiya Sheriff (MS1), Fareen Momin (MS1), Andrea Francis (MS2), and Lillianne Villarreal (MS2)

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Dermatology Research Year Available at Johns Hopkins

Medical students interested in a clinical research year (or two) starting July 1 in the area of Transplant Dermatology and Cutaneous Oncology should contact Courtney Elcock at celcock1@jhmi.edu for more information. MS3, MS4, and MS5 are being considered.

UTMB Matches with 2021-2022 Mohs Fellow

Congratulations to Dr. Kristyna Gleghorn for matching into the UTMB Fellowship in Micrographic Surgery and Dermatologic Oncology (Mohs) for the upcoming 2021-2022 academic year. Dr. Gleghorn is currently a PGY4 Dermatology Chief Resident at UTMB, where she also went to medical school. Her Fellowship Director is Dr. Richard Wagner, Professor Dermatology at UTMB, and her Associate Program Director is Dr. Aaron Joseph, Clinical Associate Professor of Dermatology at UTMB.

Monday, December 07, 2020

UTMB PGY3 Dermatology Resident Appointed to ASDS Work Group

Congratulations to Dr. Paige Hoyer for her recent appointment to a Work Group for the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) through 2023. She will work as a resident member of the ASDS Media Work Group. This Work Group is charged to ”Develop strategies to drive awareness and engagement in the society’s social media.”

Saturday, December 05, 2020

UTMB Dermatology PGY2 Board Certified in Pediatrics

 Congratulations to UTMB PGY2 dermatology resident Dr. Ayezel Munoz for her recent board certification in pediatrics!

Thursday, December 03, 2020

UTMB has Three 2020 Texas Dermatology Super Doctors!

Congratulations to 3 dermatology faculty who were recently named 2020
Texas Super Doctors at UTMB. Congratulations to Drs. Sharon Raimer (Legacy Member Super Doctor), Brent Kelly, and Erica Kelly for this well-deserved recognition!

Baylor Dermatology Chair Honored by UTMB

John E. Wolf, MD, MA, UTMB SOM class of 1965, has been named an Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus.

This award is the highest honor bestowed by the university's School of Medicine Alumni Association and recognizes UTMB alumni for their outstanding service to the medical profession and to humanity. Congratulations Dr. Wolf!

Wednesday, December 02, 2020

Outside Applicants Invited for UTMB Dermatology Interview

This years outside applicants came from 22 medical schools in 12 states and countries and included 3 rotators from 3 different medical schools. Their mean Step 1 score (required) was 246 (range 202-266) and their mean Step 2 score (not required) was 256 (range 227-274). 18 were members of AOA.

UTMB MS3 Publication in JAAD Case Reports

Congratulations to MS3 Michael Phan for his publication "Ulcerative injection-site reaction associated with dupilumab therapy". His co-authors are PGY3 Dr. Anthony Linfante and UTMB Faculty Dr. Kathleen Kroger. The link to the publication can be found here