Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Friday, January 31, 2014

LSU Shreveport Establishes Peer-Reviewed Journal for Medical Student Research

UTMB medical students with an interest in medical publication should be aware of a new online peer-reviewed medical journal from LSU Shreveport. Additional information about this academic publication, The American Medical Student Research Journal, is available at http://www.amsrj.org/index.php?journal=amsrj 

As a reminder: DIG@UTMB Blog co-editor is conducting a short anonymous survey study that will pop-up when the blog is accessed. For direct access to the survey: http://www.rationalsurvey.com/s/10928
Your participation would be much appreciated!

Thursday, January 30, 2014

UTMB Dermatology Expands Administrative Rolls for PGY4 Chief Residents

Starting the 2014-2015 academic year, our UTMB dermatology chief residents will serve in 4 distinct administrative functions. The scheduling resident and academic resident for resident education will be retained as in past years, and two additional positions (academic resident for medical student education and quality assurance/improvement resident). It is a UTMB tradition that all of the incoming chief residents meet and decide what resident will be assigned to each role during their final year of dermatology training.

As a reminder: DIG@UTMB Blog co-editor is conducting a short anonymous survey study that will pop -up when the blog is accessed. For direct access to the survey: http://www.rationalsurvey.com/s/10928. Your participation would be much appreciated!

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

UTMB Dermatology PGY-3’s Honors Research Project Published

Congratulations to Dr. Lindsey Hunter-Ellul, PGY-3 UTMB Dermatology Resident, for the recent publication of her basic science research, “Is the Photosuturing Agent, Rose Bengal, a Mutagen?” in the Journal of Cosmetics, Dermatological Sciences and Applications. Dr. Hunter-Ellul received summa cum laude honors for her medical student research in dermatology, in addition to the UTMB Dean’s Award for Research Excellence in 2011. Her co-authors on this project include, Michael Wilkerson, M.D., UTMB Professor of Dermatology, Jeffrey Wickliffe, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, and Shuguang Wang, Ph.D. Department of Department of Global Environ-mental Health Sciences, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, Tulane University, New Orleans, Louisiana.

The article can be accessed at: http://www.scirp.org/journal/PaperInformation.aspx?PaperID=42585#.UugpHvnnbDc

L. Hunter-Ellul, S. Wang, J. Wickliffe and M. Wilkerson, "Is the Photosuturing Agent, Rose Bengal, a Mutagen?," Journal of Cosmetics, Dermatological Sciences and Applications, Vol. 4 No. 1, 2014, pp. 24-30. doi: 10.4236/jcdsa.2014.41004.

Dermatology Night at St. Vincent's Clinic on 1/28 Cancelled!

Due to the inclement weather, St. Vincent's clinic will be cancelled tonight. The patients will be rescheduled into a dermatology clinic at St. Vincent's on a future date.

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Join UTMB Dermatology faculty and residents for the Dermatology/Medicine Night at St. Vincent's Clinic this week!

Where: St. Vincent's House, 2817 Post Office Street, Galveston, Texas 77550
When: Tuesday, January 28th 4:30-8:30pm
Faculty: Dr. Sharon Raimer

We anticipate more than 20 patients, so your help would be much appreciated!

For more information about the St. Vincent's Student Free Clinic, please visit their website: http://www.stvsc.org/.

Sunday, January 19, 2014

UTMB Dermatopathology Selects 2015-2016 Dermatopathology Fellow

Congratulations to Dr. Michael Sedrak, a current PGY4 UTMB pathology resident, who has accepted one of the two available UTMB dermatopathology fellowship positions for the 2015 - 2016 academic year. Dr. Sedrak plans on completing a surgical pathology fellowship at UTMB before beginning dermatopathology fellowship.

Friday, January 17, 2014

DIG Vice-President Publishes Case Report

Congratulations to UTMB MS4 and Dermatology Interest Group Vice-President William Tausend for his recent publication, “Primary Amyloidosis-induced Nail Dystrophy.” This case report was published in the Dermatology Online Journal (20(1): 6). This article can be found at http://escholarship.org/uc/item/96m531vj. William’s co-authors on this paper were Dr. Megan Neill (UTMB PGY-4 Dermatology Resident) and Dr. Brent Kelly (Associate Professor of Dermatology and Dermatopathology at UTMB).

Wednesday, January 08, 2014

Another Article About Tzanck Smear Diagnosis from UTMB Dermatology

Congratulations to Drs. Ryan Riahi, Mika Yamazaki and Brent Kelly for their excellent case report about the diagnosis of scrotal Hailey-Hailey disease through a diagnostic Tzanck smear cytopathology examination. This paper was published in the peer-reviewed dermatology journal, The International Journal of Dermatology (“Tzanck smear utilized in the diagnosis of Hailey-Hailey disease mimicking genital herpes,” 2014;53:85-87). Dr. Riahi is currently a PGY2 dermatology resident at LSU in New Orleans, Louisiana and Dr. Yamazaki is in private dermatology practice in Hawaii following completion of her dermatology residency at UTMB. Dr. Brent Kelly is an Associate Professor of Dermatology at UTMB and the Director of the UTMB Dermatopathology Service.

Monday, January 06, 2014

UTMB Proposes Pay Raise for House Staff on July 1, 2014

This proposed salary increase still needs approval by the UT System Board of Regents: