Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Friday, May 18, 2007

The Schlip Miles for Melanoma walk

Hi everyone,
We want to thank you so very much for coming out and supporting melanoma research and awareness on May 5th. I just finished tallying up what we have so far and the total comes to $2,334!!! Way to go!!! We will also have a $1,000 grant that will be applied to our walk as well. Jean Schlipmann said she would apply the amount towards our walk!! This will bring us to at least $3,334!!!! Here are a few pictures that highlight the walk. Thanks again and we'll see everybody out there again next year.
Fadi and Ashley

Monday, May 07, 2007

UTMB DIG Congratulates Dr. Joslyn Witherspoon, School of Medicine Class of 2006

Our DIG has recently learned that Joslyn Witherspoon, MD, MPH has accepted a 2007 Dermatology Research Fellowship at Northwestern University School of Medicine following completion of her internship year. Dr. Witherspoon was a UTMB DIG Co-President during the 2005-2006 academic year. Congratulations to Joslyn!

Wednesday, May 02, 2007

Congratulations New Officers!

Last Monday, at the last DIG meeting of the year, we selected the new officers for the 2007-2008 academic year. As the DIG has expanded this year, we thought it was appropriate to increase the number of officer positions for next year, making new spots for Vice President, Secretary, Miles for Melanoma Walk Coordinator, and Second Year Medical Student Representative. Congratulations to the following:
Ashley Group, MSIII - Co-President
Fadi Constantine, MSIII - Co-President
Wenhong Zhou, MSIII - Vice President
Christine Kwan, MSIII - Secretary
Julie Cummings, MSIII - Miles for Melanoma Walk Coordinator
Leslie Scroggins, MSII - Community Outreach Coordinator
Navin Dhingra, MSI - Second Year Medical Student Representative
I want to thank everyone for a wonderful year!