Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Friday, April 23, 2021

Osteopathic Dermatology Applications

 A recent letter in Dermatology Online Journal is of interest to dermatology program directors and osteopathic dermatology applicants (“A survey of osteopathic physician and student authorship in the dermatology literature”), Volume 27, Number 3, March 2021;27(3):20. Academic publishing by osteopathic physicians was reviewed. The authors suggest that there is an opportunity for osteopathic physicians to publish in the area of “…underserved and rural communities” since these populations “are served heavily by osteopathic dermatologists.”

Tuesday, April 20, 2021

LatinX Dermatology Directory Post-Match Panel Tomorrow!

The Latinx Dermatology Directory will be hosting a post-match dermatology panel tomorrow Wednesday April 21, 2021. Panelists will be answering questions about applying to dermatology residency and sharing advice on away rotations, writing your personal statement, the ERAS application process, and more. 

All Latinx aspiring dermatologists, URiMs, and allies are welcome!

Meeting ID: 914 6321 4675
Passcode: 396673

Friday, April 16, 2021

Dr. Frank Winsett Nominated as 2021 UTMB Resident of the Year

Congratulations to Dr. Frank Winsett for receiving the Department of Dermatology nomination as the 2021 UTMB Resident of the Year. He has accepted a dermatology faculty position at UTMB following expected program completion in June 2021. The DIG is looking forward to many more interactions with you in the clinic and on research projects.

Each year UTMB dermatology residents nominate another dermatology resident or themselves for the award. Currently all dermatology residents are eligible for nomination. The dermatology faculty review the nominations and select the nominee for departmental nomination. Unfortunately each department at UTMB is only able to nominate one resident each year.

Dr. Julie Croley Nominated for UTMB Fellow of the Year

Congratulations to Dr. Julie Croley, the current fellow in Micrographic Surgery and Dermatologic Oncology at UTMB for her nomination for the 2021 UTMB Fellow of the Year. Dr. Croley is a UTMB SOM graduate (2016) and completed dermatology residency at UTMB in 2020.

UTMB Following Coalition for Physician Accountability Away Rotation Recommendations for 2021-2022 Away Rotations

The Coalition for Physician Accountability has recommended that medical students be limited to 1 away rotation for the 2020-2021 academic year. The first opportunity for away rotations are those which end sometime in July 2021 or later. Of note in their recommendations, “Residency programs are encouraged to take into consideration if a learner exceeded the one away rotation limit during the residency selection process.” UTMB has accepted these guidelines for its medical students.

Hats for the Homeless Event April 10th

Hats for the Homeless held another successful event on April 10th. From right to left: Andrea Francis (MS2), Briana Ortiz (MS1), Benjamin Garcia (MS2), and Jacqueline Ochoa (MS1) 

Former UTMB DIG President Featured on Cover of The Dermatologist

Congratulations to Dr. Sheila Farhang (née Jalalat), a former UTMB DIG President and SOM 2014. While at UTMB she completed the Dermatology Honors Research Program and received the Edgar B. Smith Award at graduation for excellence in dermatology research. She appeared on the cover of the March 2021 issue of The Dermatologist (Volume 29, Number 2) and is featured in the article by Lauren Mateja (Managing Editor), “Branding and Social Media: Tips From a Board-Certified Skinfluencer” on pages 34-36. She is the founder and CEO of Avant Dermatology & Aesthetics (Tuscon, Arizona) and co-founder of Vispera Health (telehealth company). In addition, she is a media expert for the AAD. On Instagram she is fount at @dr.sheila_derm  or @avantdermatology

Friday, April 09, 2021

UTMB Dermatology Selective Student Awarded Prestigious Osler Scholars Award

The UTMB DIG extends its congratulations to MS4 Maeka De La Torre for her selection for the 2021 Basic Sciences or Humanities Selectives (BSHS) Essay Award. She will receive a $2000 check, award certificate, and biographies on Sir William Osler and John P. McGovern, the patron of the UTMB Osler Scholars. The virtual award ceremony is scheduled for May 18, 2021. Her winning essay, written for Dr. Richard Wagner’s Selective (Professor Dermatology and UTMB Dermatology Program Director),  Narratives of Skin Diseases (DERU-4012) addressed acclaimed author John Updike’s personal experiences with psoriasis, through his famous fictional (“From the Journal of a Leper”) and autobiographical (“At War With My Skin”) essays that were published in The New Yorker literary magazine. Dr. Wagner’s Narratives Selective focuses on publications written by people experiencing several skin diseases such as albinism, vitiligo, leprosy, skin cancer, and psoriasis, and is offered every Period of the academic year. Ms. De La Torre will take a residency in pediatrics at Baystate Medical Center in Springfield, MA following graduation from the UTMB SOM in June 2021.