Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Attention all those interested in a Dermatology residency!!

The Baylor Department of Dermatology would like to invite any 4th year medical students interested in dermatology to attend an informational session. The information given will benefit students applying to dermatology within the next few years. If you are interested, please send an email to aglaich@sbcglobal.net.

UTMB Dermatology Department offers History of Dermatology Elective

The UTMB Department of Dermatology has announced a new elective course offering, "History of Dermatology" (DERU-4008) that is now available to UTMB and visiting medical students. This four week course will be taught by Dr. Richard Wagner and based on assigned readings from the text, Historical Atlas of Dermatology and Dermatologists (Crissey JT, Parish LC and Holubar K) and other primary sources. The course is a survey of dermatology history, from Egyptians through the modern period. In addition to scheduled class discussions based on the readings, the students taking this elective are required to write an original 5-10 page paper based on their own research about the history of dermatology based on primary and secondary sources. Each year the UTMB Department of Dermatology will issue a "History of Dermatology Award" certificate to recognize the medical student who writes the best historical manuscript.