Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Friday, April 10, 2009

Hurricane Ike Disrupts MS3 Dermatology Honors Research Proposals

It has been noted that no current third year UTMB medical students have yet proposed a dermatology research honors thesis for dermatology for completion in the next academic year (2009-2010). Although current third year medical student are now past deadline (December 31, 2008), Dr. Simon Lewis, the Chair of the University Research Honors Program will usually accept late proposals from third year medical students if there is good chance that the proposed research project can be completed by April 2010 prior to graduation. Current third year medical students with an interest in this type of research are encouraged to contact dermatology faculty this month about honors research projects. Our dermatology department usually supports several projects each year, and most are successfully completed for graduation research honors. UTMB medical students are permitted to initiate honors research projects anytime during their medical school years, but in the past most participants initiate their projects during their third year.