Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Thursday, June 12, 2008

UTMB Dermatology Conference Room Gets New Look

Medical students and other visitors to the UTMB Dermatology Conference Room will notice that all 10 ongoing departmental commemorative award plaques have now been grouped together on one wall. Five of the awards go annually to medical students (usually seniors):

The Awards are listed chronologically:

Thomas W. Freese, MD Memorial Endowment for Excellence in Dermatology (1986-present): Best overall senior UTMB dermatology student

Edgar B. Smith Endowed Scholarship in Dermatology (2001-present): Best dermatology research by a senior UTMB dermatology student

UTMB Honors Program in Dermatology Research (2001-present): Completion of formal dermatology research project at UTMB with graduation honors awarded

Beiersdorf History of Dermatology Award (2008-present): Best original essay about dermatology by a student taking DERU-4008 each academic year (History of Dermatology)

Best Original Essay for "Skin Diseases Depicted in Cinema" (2008-present): Best original essay by a student taking DERU-4051 (UTMB senior selective) or
DERU-4007 (elective) each academic year