Current Editors: Keith Wagner and Michael Ryan

Past Editors: Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Frances Elaine Smith (9/28/32-2/22/15)

Mrs. Elaine Smith, wife of the late Dr. Edgar B. Smith, passed on February 22, 2015. Following Dr. Smith’s retirement as the Chair of Dermatology at UTMB in 1999 and his death in 2005 , Mrs. Smith remained a strong supporter of the UTMB Department of Dermatology, with keen interest in the ongoing activities of the Edgar B. Smith MD Professorship in Dermatology and the annual Edgar B. Smith MD Scholarship that is awarded annually by dermatology faculty vote to the UTMB MS4 with the best dermatology research completed at UTMB. She proudly followed the academic achievements of UTMB medical students, dermatology residents and dermatology faculty supported through generous funding provided through the Edgar B. Smith MD Professorship. She will be greatly missed by all of us in Galveston. For additional information, please see http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/houstonchronicle/obituary.aspx?n=Frances-Smith-Elaine&pid=174240218