Current Editors: Keith Wagner and Michael Ryan

Past Editors: Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Wednesday, May 07, 2014

Dermatology at the 2014 National Student Research Forum

On April 24th and 25th of 2014, UTMB hosted the 55th annual National Student Research Forum. Over 200 students from graduate and medical schools across the United States and Canada came to Galveston to present their research. Juan Sosa was awarded the best dermatology poster award this year.   A total of three Dermatology related research posters were presented at this year’s conference. The posters were:

-Joseph Babcock (Florida State University), “A Splinted Excisional Full-Thickness Wound Model for Evaluation of Therapeutic Efficacy in the Treatment of Non-healing Diabetic Wounds.” Coauthors included Dr. Michael Blaber, Dr. Kathleen Harper, and Ms. Sachiko Blaber.

-Juan Sosa (University of Texas Southwestern-Dallas), “Confetti Depigmentation as a Sign of Rapidly Progressing Vitiligo.” Coauthors included Mr. Sharif Currimbhoy, Ms. Samantha Sirignano, Mr. Ryan O’Leary, and Dr. Amit Pandya.

-Kevin Sharghi (UTMB), “Effective Skin Cancer Education, Outreach, and Screening in Central Texas.” Coauthors included Dr. Ammar Ahmed, Dr. Jason Reichenberg, and Nurse Dawn Parsons (all associated with the University of Texas Southwestern-Austin).

The event will be hosted again next April. For more information about the forum, please to go http://www.utmb.edu/nsrf/