Current Editors: Keith Wagner and Michael Ryan

Past Editors: Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Sunday, June 14, 2015

Professors Censure MD Anderson Cancer Center

According to a report by Todd Ackerman (“M.D. Anderson is censured by national faculty group: UT cancer center’s reputation dinged for tenure practices”) that was published in the Sunday, June 14, 2015 issue of the Houston Chronicle (pages B1 and B4), 234 members of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) unanimously voted to censure MD Anderson on 6/13/15. The only other medical institutions on the AAUP censure list are UTMB and Meharry Medical College. According to this article, UTMB was added to the list in 2010 following dismissal of 2400 employees (including 42 tenured faculty) in the wake of Hurricane Ike and almost $1 billion in damages.  Institutional removal from the censure list requires a majority vote at an annual meeting. It is possible that this type of academic censure could deter some potential faculty from accepting employment at the censured institutions.