Current Editors: Keith Wagner and Michael Ryan

Past Editors: Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Thursday, January 28, 2016

UTMB’s First Mohs Fellow Announced

The UTMB Department of dermatology has selected UTMB PGY4 dermatology resident Dr. Helen Malone as the first UTMB Micrographic Surgery (Mohs) and Dermatologic Oncology fellow. She will begin the one year Mohs fellowship at UTMB in July 2016, immediately following completion of dermatology residency.  Dr. Malone is currently a chief resident in the UTMB Department of Dermatology.  She began dermatology residency training at UTMB in 2013 after completing a general surgery internship year and three years of plastic surgery training at Southern Illinois University.  During her dermatology residency at UTMB, she has been actively involved in dermatology research, especially as it relates to Mohs reconstruction and dermatologic oncology.   Recent projects include three peer-reviewed publications in the Journal of American Academy of Dermatology, a comprehensive review paper on applications of deepithelialized flaps and grafts in dermatologic surgery, a Mohs surgical education project designed to train UTMB dermatology and plastic surgery residents about the use of skin flaps, and a some case reports about unusual aspects of skin cancers treated at UTMB on the Mohs service.  The UTMB DIG extends its congratulations to Dr. Malone. We are eager to learn from you when we rotate on the Mohs service.