Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Friday, May 15, 2009

2009 Annual Dermatology Department Medical Student Awards

The UTMB DIG congratulates the following 2009 awardees:

2009 Awards to Medical Students
-Best Original Essay for "Skin Diseases Depicted in Cinema" course: Jennifer Vickers ("Skin Disease: A Public Misconception")
-Beiersdorf History of Dermatology Award: Elizabeth Williford ("Leprosy: Scourge of the Past and Present")
-Edgar B. Smith Endowed Scholarship Award for Excellent Dermatology Research by a Medical Student: Mara Dacso
-Thomas B. Freese Award for Overall Excellence in Dermatology: Leslie Scroggins Markle

Dr. Wagner (center) presents Leslie Scroggins Markle (left) and Mara Dacso (right) with 2009 Dermatology Awards

2009 UTMB Honors Research Program in Dermatology
-Mara Dacso: Magna Cum Laude ("Evaluation of Multi-Drug Therapy for Leprosy in the U.S.A. Using Daily Rifampin")
-Leslie Scroggins Markle: Magna Cum Laude ("The Balance of Matrix Metalloproteinases and Tissue Inhibitor of Metalloproteinase-1 in Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis")
-Jennifer Vickers: Magna Cum Laude ("Pimple Popper, MD: Why Seinfeld is Consquential to Dermatology")

Good luck in your careers!