Current Editors: Renat Ahatov, Michael Phan, and Andrea Francis

(Please email editors if there is blog-worthy news that you would like to see shared)

Past Editors: Elise Weisert, Michael Ryan, Keith Wagner, Tim Allen, Kristyna Gleghorn, Dung Mac, Alex Acosta, William Tausend, Sheila Jalalat, Rebecca Philips, Chelsea Altinger, Lindsey Hunter, Alison Wiesenthal, Leslie Scroggins, Mara Dacso, Ashley Group, Fadi Constantine, Emily Fridlington, Joslyn Witherspoon, Tasneem Poonawalla.

Monday, February 11, 2008

Newly Approved Dermatology Honors Research Program Projects

Two 3rd year UTMB medical students have had their Dermatology Honors Program Research Proposals approved by Dr. Simon Lewis and the UTMB Honors Program Committee.

Mara Dasco: "Evaluation of multi-drug therapy for leprosy using daily rifampin," (Erica Kelly, MD, faculty advisor)

Leslie Scroggins: "The Role of Matrix Metalloproteinases and TIMP-1 in Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis," (Brent Kelly, MD, faculty advisor)

This non-degree research program is available to all UTMB medical students who do not hold a PhD or who are in the joint MD-PhD degree program. The due date for research proposals is December of the 3rd year of medical school, but occasionally the University Honors Program Committee will approve research plans made past that deadline if there is enough time to complete the research. A written thesis is required and an oral defense must be made to Dr. Lewis and the ad hoc thesis committee by April 1 of the 4th year of medical school. Drs. Wagner and Lewis co-authored a summary of the UTMB Dermatology Honors Research Program that is available to medical students who are interested in this innovative educational program at Dermatology Online Journal: http://dermatology.cdlib.org/124/commentary/student/wagner.html

Congratulations to Mara and Leslie!